La Dolce Vita – Chapter Three

Read chapter two here

La Dolce Vita

Chapter Three

That night I didn’t sleep well at all, it was mid August and the weather was extremely hot. I woke up super early in the morning which in itself was very unusual, everything was silent apart from the birds singing away outside and the whole house was still. Everyone was still sleeping including Sophia who somehow had crawled her way into my bed at some point during the night while I slept, the little cutie. As I accepted the fact that I wouldn’t be able to sleep any more, I decided to get up and go check out this magical beach where the wedding of the century was taking place. I slid out of bed as quietly as possible and opened up my suitcase in pursuit of a bikini and some shorts which I then took into the bathroom to get changed into after brushing my teeth and having a morning wash and also grabbing a towel on my way out. I ventured into the lounge in search for the back door that had access straight out onto the beach. To be completely honest this beach was something else, the sand was of a golden colour which matched perfectly with the almost crystal clear blue sea. It was breathtaking, waking up to this view. The beach was deserted so I took my towel and laid it right in the very middle of it. I sat for a few minutes taking it all in and for a moment I forgot what it was that I was actually doing here and was able to just enjoy the peace and the beauty, it was amazing. It was early, I checked my phone to see the time had just gone seven but athe heat was pretty intense already. As my eyes scanned the golden morning beach I noticed a couple of surfing boards stacked up near the shore, I hadn’t surfed in years since I left home to be exact but right now I had an urge to. So I got up and took my shorts off leaving them with the towel and walked down to the shore. The shock of the cold water hitting my toes made me hesitate for a minute but those waves were impossible to ignore, I took the white board and braved it as I dove straight in. I hit a few waves falling shamelessly through most of them but for someone who hasn’t surfed in five years I think I did pretty good. When I had finally had enough I simply sat on the board far out in the middle of the sea looking back at the villa, it really is beautiful. I could take some amazing photos here, maybe I could even use some for work.

So another thing you might wanna know about me is I’m a photographer and a camera girl, I studied photography and film making at university. While I studied I got a job in a radio station as a runner at first but as time went on I learned more and more stuff and ended up doing the breakfast on air show for a while which made me want to go back to uni after finishing my course and do another year of music technology. Now I only work at the radio station at the weekends, my day job is being a photographer and camera girl for a very big company in London. I’ve had the opportunity to travel with the job and work with some big names in the UK for example I shot the video for Ed Sheeran’s Don’t and I’m booked to do a photo shoot with Amanda Holden next month. But my dream is to break out into music production, one day I will do it.

As I sat out in the water enjoying this moment of peace by myself, I suddenly started feeling like I was being watched. I tried to ignore it at first but then as I scanned Luigi’s big ass boat with my eyes I started getting a little freaked out, there was either someone in there or there was a shark lurking around somewhere. Or so I got into my head, either way I decided that I wasn’t going to stick around and find out and got the fuck out of there. After a hot steamy shower in my very own en suite, I came back into the bedroom wrapped in a towel to find some clothes but instead found Ariana star fishing on my bed.

“What the fuck are you doing?” I asked as tightened my grip on the towel wrapped around me.

Ariana who had been admiring her brightly polished and ridiculously long nails, shot up and looked me up and down before climbing off the bed and walking towards me.

“You know…we are not real sisters” she said as she got closer to me.
“We do not share the same blood-“

“Yes, I’m aware. Thank baby Jesus, now would you get the fuck out of my room please?” I didn’t know where this conversation was heading and I didn’t want to find out, I just wanted this imbecile to leave me alone.

“Oh come on, I know you like girls Rae but it’s fine I do too, and I think we could have a lot of fun” she said as one of her fingers found its way to my lips and traced them. If there was a little tiny  version of myself sat up in my brain like there is in Lizzie McGuire, she would be running around finding a plastic bag and vomiting inside it.

“The only fun I could imagine having with you would involve you being very, very far away from me” I said smiling but moving harshly out of her reach and opening the door indicating for her to leave, now.

Shortly after the most disturbing conversation of my life, dressed and with a dry head I joined the rest of the clan at the breakfast bar for well breakfast.

“So we are going to try on our dresses today Rae in around one hour okay?” Asked my mum very casually as though she was expecting me to say yes! Yes mother, I can’t wait to try on my dress.

“I am not wearing a dress to the wedding for the millionth time, I already have my suit. So I’m gonna stay here catch some beach and maybe do some work, okay?” I replied, blowing her a kiss yet looking defiantly into my mothers eyes silently telling her not to make a scene, because let’s face it she wouldn’t win. It did look like she was going to protest but Luig stepped in, held her hand and intervened.

“Where is the suit from? I have a very good tailor” he asked me.

“It’s Calvin Klein, I had it tailored and it fits me perfectly but thank you for the offer” I managed to fake a smile.

Some of you may be thinking that I’m acting in a spoilt brat-ish way but I have my reasons. If you knew my mother, you would understand. After clearing and washing up from breakfast, I decided to take my guitar back out onto the beach and find a nice spot where I could chill and play around a little bit. The beach was nice and peaceful just how I like it, the only sounds were those of crashing waves and birds in the sky. The sun shone right through the sea water making it almost see through which was beyond beautiful. I found a hammock at the side of the apartment, I sat and picked up my guitar mindlessly strumming it, humming along to something playing in my head. But then suddenly I started to feel weird, I felt like I was being watched again. But before I time to  figure out who or what it was that was making me feel so uncomfortable I heard a huge thud and the word “fuck” come out of the apartment next to mine. I was pretty sure that Luigi said that nobody was staying in there, I was also quite confident that if any member of either mine or Luigi’s  family fell and swore it would have been in either Italian or Spanish, so I decided to investigate! As I reached the back deck of the next apartment I saw a girl sat on the floor, she had jet black hair falling out of a hoodie that was trying to hide her face. She was looking down to her feet and when I followed her gaze I saw that one of her feett was in a cast.

“Erm ciao. Do you need help?” I spoke in the most foreign accent that could possibly come out. I’m not entirely sure why, I thought she might have been Italian since we are in Italy but I could have just asked her if she would like some help in Italian instead of making an absolute idiot of myself. Smooth Rae. The girl looked up at the me and if looks could kill, well I think I’d be floating around in that sea by now, what the fuck is her problem?!

“I’m fine” she spat.

“Obviously” I replied sarcastically as I took the few more steps up the deck.

“I’m not an invalid! I said I’m fine!” the stranger leered at me, fucking rude.

“Fine fuck you have a nice day, sat there in that spot” I turned around and left, furious.

I walked to the spot where I’d left my guitar to retrieve it and saw Luigi looking around aimlessly, clearly looking for me. He turned to greet me as he saw me but when he saw my angry expression he quickly tensed up.

“Oh Rae, there you are. What’s the matter?”

“I thought you said that there was nobody else staying in any of these apartments and this was out private beach?” I said picking up my guitar to go back inside the apartment.

“Yes! what are you talking about? I own this resort, I would know.” Luigi replied, looking confused.

“Well that’s funny, because there is an incredibly intolerant brat with a broken foot out the back of that one right here” I said pointing at the next apartment.

“There is?” he asked, I nodded as a response.

“Anyway what do you want?” I asked as I turned to leave.

“I was going to see if you could take my Ferrari out its been stopped for a few weeks now and I don’t want it to get rusty you know? You could wash it too if  you want” he said as he jingled his keys in front of my face.

Okay I may hate him, I may hate what he does and who he is. How he tries to buy everything and everyone but I’m not stupid, what better way to blow off some steam than to take his precious little Ferrari? I smiled and took the keys from him.

“Sure thing”

Read chapter four here.

2 thoughts on “La Dolce Vita – Chapter Three”

Leave a comment